Editor’s Note: Special thanks to Central Committeeman Rosalie Laune, who wrote the bulk of this post. 

On March 17 a contingent of six Franklin County Democratic Central Committee members met at the Franklin County Clerk’s office in Union to file for County Committee spots in the August 8 primary. A few days later, four more members filed for a current total of 10. 

While Central Committee vacancies are filled as needed at each monthly meeting, all terms expire upon the August Primary Election. Per our bylaws, the group will have its biennial reorganization meeting a few weeks later. This year, the reorganization will take place August 23. Only those who file as County Committee members will be able to vote for leadership positions, make changes to bylaws, and the like.  

Met with County Clerk

While there, Franklin County Clerk Tim Baker visited with the group.  He reviewed election protocols, measures in place to insure voter security and addressed questions from the group.  Baker shared that Franklin County has approximately  81,000 residents 18 and older who are eligible to vote. Of that number, approximately 74,000 are registered voters. 

He emphasized that we don’t really have a voter registration problem in our county–we have a voter turnout problem. That problem is most evident in local municipal and school board elections. In the past election cycle, only 6.88% of eligible voters cast their ballot. This year, local municipal and school board elections on April 4.   

Filing for County Committee Seats

It’s a quick and easy process to file for County Committee positions. All you need is a driver’s license or other form of photo ID. County Clerk staff take care of the rest. We provide more details about Filing to Run as a County Committee Member in our previous post. Deadline for filing for County Committee spots as well as for county, state, and national races is March 29.

Central Committee Members from left: Dan Kandlbinder, Alan Bell, Eleanor Maynard, Lloyd Klinedinst, Rosalie Laune. Not pictured: Clyde Voelkerding, Becky Voelkerding, Amy Thompson, Lucas Kirk, Roberta Ross-Fisher.


The Franklin County Democratic Central Committee meets the last Monday of each month. The group continues to hold its monthly meetings via Zoom due to COVID. Follow us on Facebook and Twitter

Photo Credit: Roberta Ross-Fisher