It looks like once again, the will of the voters doesn’t matter to Missouri lawmakers. A bill currently being pushed through this legislative session will increase gasoline taxes by 17 cents, SB 262 was endorsed by the Missouri Senate on March 11 and now it’s been sent to the House. 

Endorsed by Franklin County’s own Dave Schatz (SD 26), the bill would gradually increase the state fuel tax from its current level of 17 cents per gallon to 29.5 cents a gallon in 2025. Once it’s fully phased in, the tax would generate an estimated $462.39 million a year in additional revenue for state and local transportation projects.

We certainly understand the need to reinvest in our state’s roads and bridges. No doubt about it. And, Missouri currently has one of the nation’s lowest state fuel taxes. We last saw an increase in 1996 under legislation enacted in 1992. 

But there’s one big problem: Missouri voters already rejected this proposal when they cast their ballots during the November 2018 general election. Proposition D was soundly defeated, 53% to 46%. 

Senator Schatz and the Republican Supermajority are determined not to accept the will of Missouri voters. SB 262 will not go on the ballot for voter approval again. If both legislative bodies pass the bill, it would simply take effect if it’s signed into law by Governor Parson.

We have a feeling that some backroom deals have already been cut, and Missourians will soon start paying more at the pump unless we speak out en masse. Here’s how you can help: 

  • Call into Diane Jones’ weekdays morning show on KLPW: (636) 584-8255
    • “Off the Cuff” at 6:45 a.m.
    • Regular Morning Show from 7:45 to 10:00 a.m.
  • Call our elected officials and share your opinions with them: 
    • Governor Mike Parson: (573) 751-3222
    • Senator Dave Schatz (SD 26): (573) 751-3678
    • Representative Dottie Bailey (HD 110): 573-751-0562 
    • Representative Aaron Griesheimer (HD 061): 573-751-6668
    • Representative John Simmons (HD 109): 573-751-3776
    • Representative Nate Tate (HD 119): 573-751-0549


The Franklin County Democratic Central Committee meets the last Monday of each month. Due to COVID, meetings are currently being held via Zoom. Follow us on Facebook and Twitter

Photo Credit: sippakorn yamkasikorn on Unsplash

By NO Comment , , , March 14, 2021